Freedom Trailin’

2 posts in 1 week?! Pausing to give myself a pat on the back right now…

Let’s be honest though. I’m really just putting off writing all the Thank You cards from the past couple weeks of interviews. I love how I’m framing myself to be a serious procrastinator. According to this blog, it’s because I have a monkey in my brain…I guess there are worse things to have in your brain. Now onward to something less cerebral.

A couple months, I stopped by Boston during my interview trail where my lovely friend, Juhee, was kind enough to play hostess. I had been there once before a few years back, but my memory seems to be failing me in my old age. Since she’s a new transplant to the city, we spent some time roaming around like tourists.

IMG_1366Massachusetts State House

IMG_1376IMG_1378

          Benjamin Franklin                                   Site of the Boston Massacre

If you’ve never been to Boston before and like history, the Freedom Trail is a fun, albeit cold during the winter months, way of getting to know the city. The city offers tours led by a 18th century costumed guide. What’s even more adorable is that each guide has a backstory as a colonial character. For those who prefer to wander at their own pace, an audio tour ($15) is also available for download. Now if frugality is your middle name, Northeastern University and AudioViator offer audio tours free of charge. As a penniless medical student and a newly minted intern, we were magnetically drawn to the third option and chose AudioViator as it seemed to be a closer replica of the real deal. We found it to be concise, yet informative and entertaining.

Interesting tidbits in order of badass to nifty:

1. Ben Franklin wrote articles under the guise of an old woman and ran away from home. What a rebel. Now, I finally know who I’d want to have dinner with, dead or alive.

2. Boston Massacre aka The Bloody Massacre – 5 killed.

3. Massachusetts State House’s golden dome was painted black during World War II to protect the city from bombing attacks.

Make sure to swing by Quincy Market located next to Faneuil Hall. Perhaps the most popular stop for tourists, the place is bustling day and night. Open spaces on both ends act as concrete stages for the many street performances throughout the day. We were able to catch a bunch of elementary-aged children performing Disney and Christmas songs in brightly colored, but thin turtlenecks. Brrrr. The inside of the building is filled with innumerable food stalls which would have lured me in instantly, but navigating the crowds was a bit like wading through the wave pools in China during the summer.

IMG_1383

Quincy Market

Unfortunately, we didn’t quite make it to the end of the trail because we had to run, literally, to a dinner reservation. But hey, you have to leave something for the next visit right?

-L

“If everyone is thinking alike, then no one is thinking.” – Benjamin Franklin

Leave a Reply

