Hi!

Thanks for visiting our blog!  I had wanted to post an entry much earlier, but the other to-dos in life kept coming until I felt that this may be one of those ideas that you so so want to turn into reality, but the reality is that you can “never” find the time to accomplish it. Well, sometimes all you need is some “encouragement” from a good friend. Linda had mentioned to me daily the lack of entries in this blog… for the past month. So finally after finish “reading” a paper on the definition and staging of chronic kidney disease, I decided to give this a try.

I was born in Dalian, a coastal city east of Beijing. I lived next to the ocean and grew up eating seafood and rice. I had no interest in studying and when my parents told me that kids in America don’t have to study, I decided, at the age of twelve, that I NEED to go to America! I spent the next six years living in a suburb in Houston, Texas attending middle and high school. Somehow, my interest in school grew and I was accepted by Wellesley College in the spring of 2004. I am eternally grateful for what Wellesley had taught me (For those of you interested in the school, I will tell you more about it in a future post). After finishing college, I went to medical school at UTSW in Dallas, Texas. I am now one week away from graduating. In June, I will start my residency in Ob/Gyn.

During one of my medical school interviews, the interviewer asked me, “What is your strength?” I proudly answered, “I am a go getter. I set goals, stay focused, and reach my goals.” Then I went on listing all my academic achievements and future goals. Personally I don’t think there is anything wrong with setting goals, but over the years, I have noticed that sometimes I am so focused on achieving my goals that I forget to appreciate and enjoy other things in life. Now looking back, my most precious memories are not how I had made A’s in school and aced my USMLE exams. The memories that I treasure the most are times when my friends and I laughed so hard that we looked like we belonged to the psychiatric ED, when I jogged around Lake Waban while feeling the warm sunshine and smelling the crisp air, and when I saw a beautiful painting and wondered how much the artist must have loved life… Sometimes we just need to pause and take the time to embrace all the wonderful details of life!

I was in Beijing for a week at the beginning of May. I visited the Forbidden City and was touched by how beautiful it is.

I love the use of complementary colors and the intricate details on all the buildings.
I love the use of complementary colors and the intricate details on all the buildings.
First time I saw peonies in real life. They are considered the national flower of China. Their color is so vibrant and they have such a strong presence.
First time I saw peonies in real life. They are considered the national flower of China. Their color is so vibrant and they have such a strong presence.

With love, Michelle

Leave a Reply

